Half Way There….


 

IMG_5494Here we are! July 1st! We are half way through 2015. Boy, we are really plowing through this year! I feel like it was just January. Maybe that was a result of our never-ending winter this year. Regardless, here we are, reflecting together on July 1st, and as I look around, I feel like I am not making a great deal of progress towards my goals. As a matter of fact, looking back at my page a day journal, I’m in a very similar place and mindset as I was this time last year.

What to do?

As they say, “No change, No change”. Time to buckle down, reevaluate my goals and take action. I need to stop thinking about what I want to do and just start doing it. My dad always yells at me, “Do something, even if it’s wrong!” Very few things exist in a permanent state, you can always fix it, change it, or improve upon it. Think about it:

  • Permanent hair color – seriously? Tell that to my grey.
  • Permanent markers – ask any parent, it will eventually wash off given enough time and soap.
  • Tattoos – permanent body art can now be removed by laser, or you can always redesign or “cover it up” aka Jonny Depp’s “Winona Forever” and Angelina Jolie’s “Billy Bob” tattoos.

It’s time to stop making excuses, and start taking action and responsibility! I’m sure you are standing up at your desks with your fists on the air shouting,  “Yes, Souzapalooza! I’m with you! Let’s do this!”  

And now here comes the little voice behind you to ask “Where the heck do I start?” Well that’s easy friends!

Start at the end.

Wait, What? Souza, what are you talking about? That doesn’t make sense? You always start at the beginning!

Let’s think about this. You can’t start at the beginning. Why? Because you don’t know where you are going or how you are going to get there. Think about any road trip you’ve been on (even the crazy ones Doc and I use to take back in the day!) There is always a destination. A clear focused point you want to get to and a reason to get there. Can you visualize your self there? Can you imagine the details? How will you feel? What will you see? What will it mean to you when you make it there?

I can easily say, “I want to be debt free” of “I want to lose 35 lbs”. But what does that really mean? How about something a little more specific. “I am working towards being debt free so I can have more financial security, enjoy buying things with out feeling guilty, and not have the stressful burden of bills” or “I want to lose 35 lbs so my health, strength, and energy levels improve and I can inspire others around me”.

This weekend, in between barbecues and fireworks, take some time to think about your goals; the destination you want to reach. What do you want to achieve during the back half of the year? More importantly, WHY?

Great photo from my fellow blogger, Angela from Oxygen 4 the Journey
Great instagram inspiration from my fellow blogger, Angela at Oxygen 4 the Journey
2 thoughts on “Half Way There….”

  1. I swear I didn’t realize that half of 2015 is over! Your post put it all into perspective for me….and I love the idea of starting at the end and visualizing myself there…already there…I’m looking forward to what the second half of 2015 will hold!
    Thank you for this inspiring post!

Leave a Reply

