Hastings on Hudson’s New American Grille, The Prime


As I mentioned on Monday, this weekend was out annual Princess Brunch. Prior years, we have celebrated all things princess-like at The Cookery in Dobbs Ferry; however with crazy cold weather and busy schedules, when the reservation was attempted they could not accommodate our party. Turns out, some one had actually ordered the Pig Dinner for brunch. Thankfully, we were able to be accommodated at The Prime – An American Grille located in Hastings on Hudson.

Now, for the record, this was not my first meal at The Prime. Doc and I check it out back in January for my birthday. I will say on my first visit, our service was excellent and we liked the food. Doc and I split two burgers, which the chef was kind enough to cut and plate for us. We split the “The Radio City” an 8oz burger with mushrooms, Swiss cheese, and carmelized onions, and “The N.Y. Pretzel” which was again an 8oz burger with spicy horseradish and hot mustard on a pretzel bun. We also split a brownie sundae. I will admit however, I was a little annoyed with the hostess, as she sat us all the way in the back of the restaurant next to a family of 5 with young children, even though the restaurant was pretty empty. Things like that really annoy me. I don’t want kids running around my table, and the parents don’t want their kids to over hear my uncensored thoughts or language. But I digress…

Princesses who brunch at The Prime
Princesses who brunch at The Prime

We were a large party for brunch, seven ladies. We were seated at two circular tables moved together in the windows of the restaurant. The nice thing about brunch at The Prime is that they offer a bottomless mimosa, bloody mary or belini option for two hours. The menu has a very diverse selection for brunch ranging from french toast to a crab cake sandwich. Since I’m back on the low/no carb kick, I opted for the steak and eggs option; grilled hanger steak with two eggs served to your liking with a side of home fries. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted great. I lived vicariously through The Flash, who ordered a delicious looking and smelling stack of chocolate chip pancakes. My Aunt, Gbeans, and her twin sister all ordered the French Toast which all three really enjoyed. My stepmom ordered the spinach white omelet, filled with spinach and goat cheese. Cousin Zibby ordered eggs beendict which, according to her, was impressive and I will tell you, in the realm of eggs benedict, she is a hard woman to please so this is a huge complement to the chef.

Since it was princess brunch, most of us indulged in dessert as well. Warm apple pie, banana splits, and cookie ala mode all grace the menu but for me, the brownie sundae is the winner. Their brownies have walnuts, just like home made. They are delicious! moist, chewy, and chocolatey, just like a brownie should be.

Whether you go for brunch, lunch, or dinner, I do not think you will be disappointed in the food at The Prime

Souzapalooza note: apologies for no photos, I was so involved in conversation and food enjoyment that I didn’t take any. However, there are wonderful photos of some of the menu items on their website. Click HERE for visual stimulation and an overview of their menu.

The Prime – An American Grille is located at 19 Main St, Hastings on Hudson, NY 10706. Call 914-478-1147 for reservations.

Open Mon – Sat: Lunch: 11am – 5pm, Dinner: 5pm – 10pm, Bar: 11am – 2am  Sun: Brunch: 11:30am – 4:30pm, Dinner: 5pm – 10pm, Bar: Noon – Midnight

6 thoughts on “Hastings on Hudson’s New American Grille, The Prime”

  1. I must clarify I had the blueberry pancakes. I am a pancake expert and these were out of the world. Melted in your mouth, moist and not one bit of flour taste in your mouth. The place to go from now on. Maybe we will have a summer brunch just because we are all so awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

