10% Happier For Only 1% of Your Day


I just finished reading 10% Happier – How I Tamed the Voices in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, And Found Self Help That Actually Works – A True Story by Dan Harris. This was a birthday gift from SK2. I have been reading it sporadically during my commute and when I have some down time to myself.

The book documents the journey of Dan Harris, ABC’s Nightline and GMA Weekend Edition Co-Anchor as he finds an effective and useful way to rein in the “incessant, insatiable voice in his head which had propelled him through the ranks of hyper competitive business” Mr Harris relays his very personal struggles with PTSD after working in war-torn countries, drug addiction, and a very public on-air panic attack. In 2013, he read Eckhart Tolle’s Power of Now which kickstarted his journey towards mindfulness and meditation.

Although I enjoyed the book and look forward to starting my own meditative practice, being in the news industry, Mr Harris has opportunities that many of us commoners don’t. He had direct encounters with many leaders in self-help/mindfulness arena thanks to his position. He had the opportunity to meet with Eckhart Tolle, Deepka Chopra, and even the Dali Lama himself. He even starts a sort of mentorship with Dr Mark Epstein, psychiatrist, author and practicing Buddhist.

At the back of the book, Mr. Harris provides instructions for basic mindfulness meditations as well as some FAQs and a few reading recommendations which was a nice touch. So if you have 20 minutes (don’t worry, you can work up to a full 20 minutes if that seems too much at first), you too can be about 10% happier.

10 thoughts on “10% Happier For Only 1% of Your Day”

  1. Thanks Souzapalooza for posting this…I didn’t know about Dan Harris and his struggles…I think it’s a great idea to work on more mindfulness and meditation in life…I’m trying to do so myself…It seems life goes by so fast and that 10 minutes to stop and meditate seem like too much…But I’ve got to focus! Thanks for reminding me!
    Cheers!

    1. I’m making the effort to start for Lent. I need a little more focus. I’m feeling pulled in all directions so I hope this will help me to stop and reevaluate which direction to start in.

      1. I think Lent is indeed a time of reflection — And I agree that I too feel stressed at this period of the year! I think the cold has something to do with it too!…Stay warm and focused!
        Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

