The Kingsman: The Secret Service Movie Review by Guest Blogger SK2


Life was working against me last week and I wasn’t able to make the free screening of The Kingsman: The Secret Service. SK2 (my gracious plus one) stepped up, rolled solo to the film, and wrote a great review of the movie for all you blog readers (which incidently I want to see even more after reading her review!) Enjoy! 

Colin Firth speaking at the 2014 San Diego Comic Con International, for "Kingsman: The Secret Service", at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California - by Gage Skidmore
Colin Firth speaking at the 2014 San Diego Comic Con International, for “Kingsman: The Secret Service”, at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California – by Gage Skidmore

When Souzapalooza texted and asked if I wanted to see a free screening of The Kingsman: The Secret Service at the Alamo Drafthouse, her favorite theatre, I thought “Sure, why not! A date night with Souza and a free movie, what could be better?! Oh, and it has Colin Firth, right? I love me some Colin Firth.” I had seen the trailer during previews before another movie back in the fall, but I didn’t quite remember the plot. But hell, it was free and it had Colin Firth! Enough said. I re-watched the trailer and was jazzed to see it. It looked kinda cool. Did I mention it has Colin Firth?

Here is a quick synopsis of the film: A spy organization recruits an unrefined, but promising street kid into the agency’s ultra-competitive training program just as a global threat emerges from a twisted tech genius. The movie stars newcomer Taron Egerton, Samuel L. Jackson and, oh yeah, Colin Firth.

Unfortunately, Souzapalooza got stuck at work and couldn’t make it, which was a real bummer because I know she was excited to see it. So I waited in the theatre lobby by myself (I should mention that I have absolutely no problem seeing movies or doing most activities by myself – I actually enjoy it and I think more people should do more on their own) and gave back her ticket so someone else could enjoy the free movie. I actually gave our pair of tickets to a couple and took a single seat a few rows back so that the husband and wife could sit together. I also believe in karma and small acts of kindness, what can I say?

Right before movie time, an Alamo employee welcomed everyone to the theatre and made some announcements about the special screening and thanked us all for being “victory” members (go Souzapalooza!). She ended her speech with the question “Now who is ready to see some dapper English gents kicking ass?!” – and boy was she right! This movie was full of hot Brits kicking some serious ass!

Now, generally speaking, I am easy to please when it comes to television, movies, museums, concerts, exhibits, Broadway shows, etc. so I wasn’t sure what kind of review I could possibly give – my reviews generally stop at “Oh it was good, I really enjoyed it.” Plus the pressure of writing a whole blog post about it nearly gave me heart palpitations.

Luckily, my fears were assuaged because this movie completely surpassed my expectations! It was SO good! In addition to the dapper Brits kicking ass (which would have been enough in my book) it was very funny and filled with plot twists, sharp turns and constant surprises. Unlike many spy movies, it didn’t take itself too seriously. It was witty with an obvious British humor that I really appreciated. It had just the right amount suspense and intrigue to jokes and fighting to make it a nonstop delight. In addition to the humor, British accents, ass kicking and just plain adorable male leads (Taron Egerton might be a new favorite), the movie was still able to maintain a heartfelt story at its core – no matter your circumstances in life, you can overcome challenges, thrive and succeed. And look good in a well-tailored suit.

I’ll include a special shout out to the villainous Samuel L. Jackson, who can make anything badass – even a lisp!

I highly recommend this movie. You won’t be disappointed. And if you are, just enjoy the cute men and their British accents.

One thought on “The Kingsman: The Secret Service Movie Review by Guest Blogger SK2”

Leave a Reply

