How to Tackle Thanksgiving Dinner When You Have Hearing Loss


Today’s guest post is from Shari. I consistently read Shari’s Bikram Yoga blog, Hot Off The Mat, however she has another blog, Living With Hearing Loss, from which today’s post is from. Both my parents have a for of hearing loss; my father has tinnitus from years of working around construction equipment and machinery and my mother has loss in her right ear from complications with an illness in her late teens. It can be easy to forget that they do not hear as well as I do and often find the need to repeat myself or speak slower and clearer. This post provides some strategies for those with hearing loss to deal with large family gatherings during the holidays. Although it is aimed to those with hearing loss, I think these are good tips for all of trying to interact with large groups. Let Shari and I know your thoughts, and be sure for visit both her blogs for other great posts!

Living With Hearing Loss

A few months ago, I started a blog Living With Hearing Loss, but It has been a while since my last post. I find it unsettling to talk about my hearing loss, maybe that is why. But as Thanksgiving approaches, I thought it was time to post again, as there might be others out there with hearing loss worrying about the upcoming holiday. Maybe reading this post will help them approach the holiday with more joy and less fear. I hope so.

I always go to my in-laws for Thanksgiving, which is a lot of fun. It is a big group event, with lots of cousins, grown children and seniors. We can sometimes have up to 20 at any given Thanksgiving family meal.  There is a lot of energy, but also a lot of noise, with people all talking at once and kids laughing and joking in the background.  This is…

View original post 515 more words

2 thoughts on “How to Tackle Thanksgiving Dinner When You Have Hearing Loss”

Leave a Reply

