Dinner Party Ideas from Dart Girl


Here is the first guest post from the team of friends filling in for me. I present a post from my good friend, Dart Girl. 

In deciding what to write to help Souzapalooza out, I was torn between writing about my love of food and my love of my cat, Elvis. Then I decided not to torture everyone and post 999 pictures of Elvis in various forms of resting (a.k.a. sleeping), though I must still say that he is the most loving, adorable cat that ever walked the planet!! So instead – I decided that since I just renovated my kitchen, I would share some of my favorite recipes, some that I have tried out in the new kitchen and some that are old favorites!!

As I just mentioned – I finished a nearly 3 monthly long renovation of my kitchen about a month ago. A long, tedious task, but the results leave me smiling every time I walk into my kitchen. Below is a before and after picture.

Kitchen Before
Kitchen Before
Kitchen After
Kitchen After

I have never been much of a cook, preferring to grill on the BBQ over actually using my stove. But now with the new kitchen, I plan to start adventuring into the world of home cooked meals for dinner and see if I have a hidden culinary talent that has never before come out!! So I have included some of my favorite recipes which combined together would make a well-rounded dinner party for a small group of friends. I have not included any wine pairings as I am basically an all Riesling girl, and a sweet one at that, so I’ll leave that part of experimenting up to you!!

Bruchetta
Bruchetta

Bruschetta

• ½ large fresh Buffalo mozzarella
• 6 plum tomatoes
• 3 cloves of garlic, finely minced
• 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
• 2 tablespoons white balsamic oil
• 5 Basil leaves, chopped
• 1 large French baguette, cut into small ½ inch slices

Mix all the ingredients, except the baguette, into a bowl and let sit. Lay out baguette slices onto parchment paper on a baking sheet and lightly coat each slice with olive oil then place into the oven to toast. When bread has turned a very lightly golden brown, remove from the oven and place bread on a serving platter. Spoon portions of the mixture onto the bread and serve.

Roasted Potatoes
Roasted Potatoes

Roasted Potatoes

• 3-4 large new potatoes
• 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
• Dash of salt and pepper

Slice the potatoes and place them in a large piece of tin foil. Coat them with the olive oil and add salt and pepper to taste. Roll up the tinfoil to seal the ingredients inside. Place tinfoil on a baking sheet and cook in at 350 for approximately 15-20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Green beans
Parmesan Green Beans

Parmesan Green Beans

• 1 ½ pound of Fresh Green Beans
• 3 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
• ½ Cup of Parmesan Cheese
• ½ Teaspoon of Paprika
• Dash of Salt
• Dash of Pepper

Mix all the ingredients on a bowl and then lay out the green beans on parchment paper on a baking sheet and coke for 10-15 minutes at 375.

Skirt Steak - Get Ready to Stuff!
Skirt Steak – Get Ready to Stuff!

Stuffed Skirt Steak

• 1 Package of skirt steak
• 1 Yellow Onion
• 1 Package of Shitake Mushrooms
• ½ Cup of Crumbled Blue Cheese
• Bar-b-que sauce if desired

Saute the mushrooms and onions. Cut the skirt steak into serving sizes and grill the skirt steak on a cast iron skillet on the stove top until it is medium. Cut the skirt steak length wise so that you form a small “pouch”. Stuff the inside of the skirt steak with the sautéed mushrooms and onions and add in the blue cheese. Place it back on the skillet and put it into oven at 325 until you see the cheese has melted.

Apple Pie
Sour Cream Apple Pie

Sour Cream Apple Pie

Topping:
• 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
• ¼ cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
• 1 teaspoon cinnamon
• 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
In a small bowl combine all the ingredients until the mixture is combined well and chill the topping.
Filling:
• 1 1/3 cups sour cream
• 2/3 cups sugar
• 2 teaspoons vanilla
• 2 large eggs
• 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
• Dash of salt
• 5 large Granny Smith apples
Peel, core and slice the apples thin. In a bowl mix in all the other ingredients until the mixture is smooth and then add in the apples.

Use pre-made pie dough (or make your own) and roll out into a 10 inch pie plate. Add the filling mixture and then crumble the topping evenly over it. Do not overfill the pie plate as it will rise slightly while cooking and could spill over the edges. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 for 1 to 1 ¼ hours.

Hopefully I have given you some new ideas to try out and one of these recipes get added to your go-to list of dinner party favorites!!

For the record, I was at Dart Girl’s kitchen unveiling party where she served these gems and they were out of this world! I am so proud of her culinary achievements! – Souzapalooza

4 thoughts on “Dinner Party Ideas from Dart Girl”

Leave a Reply

