Something New On the Side – Lentil Tabbouleh


October was so busy that I didn’t try out any new recipes so I am making up for it In November. Last night I tried a new lentil based side dish from my Runner’s World Cookbook (another great holiday gift idea for the runner in your life). The recipe in the book was provided by Stefanie Sacks, MS,CNS,CDN and was paired with grilled salmon, however, since I didn’t have salmon I had mine with some frozen crab cakes I baked up. This is not the original recipe but my “twist” on their Lentil Tabbouleh

Lentil Tabbouleh
Lentil Tabbouleh
Lentil Tabbouleh

ingredients:

  • 1 cup of lentils
  • 3 cups of soup broth (Souzapalooza addition – water is recommended, but I find the broth gives it a little more flavor)
  • 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of lemon juice
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 cup of diced cucumber
  • 1/2 cup of diced red onion (Souzapalooza addition)

Directions:

  • Combine lentils and broth in a covered pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, still covered, for 15 minutes.
  • While lentils cook, in a separate bowl combine the other ingredients.
  • When the lentils are cooked (after the 15 minutes or until tender), drain and toss with the other ingredients.

This recipe is ridiculously simple and quick to make. Using the SparkRecipe nutrition calculator, this recipe (which yields about 5 1/2 cup servings) is 198 calories, 8.8g of fat, 22.7g of carbs, 8.4 g of fiber, and 9.5 g of protein.

The original recipe includes grape tomatoes and parsley, neither of which I am a fan of. I think some Feta cheese added to it might be a nice addition. Experiment and let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Something New On the Side – Lentil Tabbouleh”

Leave a Reply

