Getting It Done!


I work out!

It is important for me to make exercise a priority. This weekend was very busy and I skipped my work outs. As a result, I’ve been making a conscious effort to squish some exercise in where ever I can this week, so I don’t lose momentum towards my goals. Although I have lost 3.4 lbs since the first of the month (yes, I’m patting myself on the back), I’m not really feeling as strong as I have in the past and I have some worries about my upcoming races.

Sometimes we have to reframe our thinking about exercise. Exercise doesn’t have to be schlepping to the gym or attending a structured class. Exercise can be walking to the deli that is a bit farther at lunch time. It can be playing with your dog. It can be playing in the yard with your kids. Being active and keeping your body moving is the key. Many people tell me they want to work out but they can’t find the time; yet they tell me how they “did nothing last night”. Why wasn’t that time used to work out?

Monday night I had dinner plans after work but I had a two-hour gap between work ending and dinner beginning so I went to the gym. I got 3 miles in on the treadmill, as well as a good walk to the gym, and to and from the restaurant. According to my fitbit I hit 20,561 steps / 9.37 miles!

This morning, I went to the gym before work. I use to go before work all the time, but then I fell out of the habit. For me, going before work takes a lot more planning, since in order for me to pull this off, I have to pack my work clothes and get ready at the gym. This takes a little getting use to but once I get in to the swing of getting up a tad earlier and making sure I have packed all my necessities, it gets easier. I managed to get another 3 miles under my belt this morning. Go Me!

But like I said, maybe going to the gym isn’t right for you. Perhaps you don’t have access to a gym. Maybe you aren’t ready to tackle a class or are unsure what to do at the gym. Perhaps you don’t feel confident to try. Here is something I do, that might work for those of you having self doubts, aren’t ready for the gym, or feel like you “don’t have the time”

Rather than getting up at the commercial breaks to refill your water-glass or have a snack, why not work out? Do a few rounds of push ups, sit ups or the dreaded burpee. The average commercial break is between two and two and a half minutes. See how many sets you can do in the first commercial break, and then try to top that during the next break. There are tons of ways to work in high intensity intervals in to your favorite TV show commercial breaks. In fact, if you go to The Fitness Board on my Pinterest page (found HERE) I have pined a few commercial work outs that you may find me doing in the next few weeks as the new season of TV shows start. This may seem silly, but these two to three minute intervals will start to add up. Soon you will start to be able to do more, go for longer legnths of time and you may even see a few pounds drop off. Rome wasn’t built in a day and neither will the body of a goddess. A little bit every day, slow and steady will win the race.  Just ask Cuff Turtle:

Cuff Turtle  - Slow and Steady Wins the Race!
Slow and Steady Wins the Race!
Leave a Reply

