It’s Peanut Butter Jelly Time!


When I was a kid, I had a peanut butter allergy. This is something I thankfully grew out of, but  for most of my younger years, I wasn’t allowed to have peanut butter. I didn’t really like deli meat as a child; even now as an quasi-adult, I only eat a few types of deli meats. As a result, every day for childhood lunches, my mom would send me to school with a juice box, snack, and a grape jelly sandwich (cause I only eat grape jelly). Do you know what happens when a jelly sandwich rests on top of an orange flavored Hi-C juice box for 4 hours between leaving the house and lunch time? The jelly leaks through the white bread thanks to the absorption qualities of the Wonder bread and leaves you with a sad little purple sandwich. If I ever have kids, I promise I will never subject them to soggy jelly sandwiches. The peanut butter side will always be on the bottom to prevent this lunch time tragedy. Yes, this is one of the many things from my childhood that I am still working through…

Ka-Ka recently moved to the Albany area for a great job opportunity and on one visit, we went to a local spot for $0.25 wing night where they had something called Peanut Butter & Jelly Wings. They sounded super weird, but they are amazing! I’ve been scouring the internet for a recipe for this amazing blend of tastiness. Today, I tried one, adding my own healthy flair to the mix.

Using the base sauce recipe from theblackpeppercorn.com  that I found on pinterest, I attempted to apply some “healthy changes” in order to replicate the beautiful wings in the picture. Here are the few failures that happened in me trying to adjust the recipe:

  • I cut up chicken breast rather than using wings.
  • In an attempt to reduce the carbs, rather than using the 1 1/2 cups of grape jelly in the recipe, I used Polaner’s sugar-free grape jelly with fiber. It has only 4g carbs and 3g fiber per serving. I think the reduced sugar caused the lack of glaze like quality
  • I forgot to pick up grape juice, so I improvised with some crystal lite type fruit punch I had. This made the sauce bright pink and again, the lack of sugar impeding the glaze like quality.
  • I baked the chicken in a casserole dish which ended up making the chicken just cook in a pink soupy mixture. I think it may have been better stir frying. However, it could also be the reduce sugar not binding the sauce well

I have a big bowl of hot pink colored chicken in my fridge. However, it tastes pretty darn good! I think if you stick with the original recipe you will not be disappointed. Go visit The Black Peppercorn’s website or my “Tasty Treats” board on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

