Pancake Party – Review of Abs Protein Pancake Mix


I was super excited to come home from work today and find my Abs Protein Pancake Mix. I totally forgot that I had ordered it and I was very excited to have an alternate option to the meat loafs that have been sustaining me all week.

Abs Protein Pancake Mix
Abs Protein Pancake Mix

Abs Protein Pancakes were developed by a Tampa based trainer as a supplement to help those new to low carb diets have an easier time transitioning to their new meal plan. One scoop of Abs Protein, 1/3 of cup of egg whites, and 1/3 cup of unsweetened almond milk will yield 3-4 pancakes.

The batter is pretty thick, even after adding the egg whites and almond milk
The batter is pretty thick, even after adding the egg whites and almond milk

Honestly, they aren’t quite the same as real pancakes. They are pretty dry and dense. In addition, the price point is relatively high for the amount you receive. I believe if I added egg whites and almond milk to my usual protein, I’d have the same type of pancake (just in better flavors – I felt the Vanilla Cake Batter was a little lacking)

Flipping the pancake to the Dark Side with my Vader Spatula
Flipping the pancake to the Dark Side with my Vader Spatula

Tonight I also worked out with D-Block. After warming up with a 10 minute jog on the treadmill, we did the following work out:

  • Deadlifts (3 sets – 95lbs, 115lbs, 115lbs) and incline push-ups
  • Split Squats and Curl to Press (3 sets x 15lbs)
  • Butt lifts (15) and Planks (1 min) (3 sets on a stability ball)
  • Kettlebell Swings and Medicine Ball Slams (12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 count)

I’ve got plans to go to yoga twice this weekend with The Irish Kat, I might also try to get a few sets of the Wonder Woman workout in if I can.

Go Me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

