I Do It All for the Bling – My Dumbo Double Dare Recap


I know you have all been waiting patiently for a recap of my Dumbo Double Dare races that took place over Labor Day weekend. I apologize for the delay, I had to do some traveling for work as soon as I returned from the West Coast so I did not have a lot of time for a recap until now.

Dumbo Double Dare - Disneyland
Dumbo Double Dare – Disneyland (w/ The Flash)

I have mentioned before, the Dumbo Double Dare is a 10K and a 1/2 Marathon done over the course of two days. It was a really tough race for me. I hadn’t ran in the two weeks leading up to the race due to illness, and according to the locals, it happened to be the most humid weekend Anaheim had seen all summer.

Me as Mike Wazowski & The Flash in her Rapunzel gear ready for the 10K
Me as Mike Wazowski & The Flash in her Rapunzel gear, ready for the 10K

The 10K was on Saturday morning and started after the 5K runners (around 6:15, the 5K took off at 5:30) Most of the 10K race weaved through Disney’s California Adventureland, Disneyland and finished up through Downtown Disney. I know I ran through them because I have pictures, but I barely remember the race because it was so gosh darn hot out! Everyone was complaining about the humidity and looking for water fountains or bathrooms to cool down. It was pretty rough. I actually ran with water and finished it by mile 2. My big excitement during the 10K was running through Tomorrowland with former N*N*Sync Member Joey Fatone!

Joey Fatone & his wife during the Disneyland 10K
Joey Fatone & his wife Kelly during the Disneyland 10K

Of course, The Flash had her own celebrity sighting as well and I hate her for it! I ❤ Sean Astin!

The Flash with Sean Astin (Goonies, Rudy, LOTR... you MUST know who he is!)
The Flash with Sean Astin (Goonies, Rudy, LOTR… you MUST know who he is!)

I felt good about my 10K time, however, when I started out on Sunday morning to take on the 1/2, I knew I wasn’t going to be setting any records. I was aiming for the sub 2:30 that I felt pretty confident during my training I could get to. The heat and humidity were against me from the beginning and I knew better than to try to push myself too hard in those conditions. So around the 5K mark I succumbed to the mentality of just having fun and not trying to break my own land speed record. The sub 2:30 was going to be too much to push for under those conditions. I came in slightly slower than the PHM, but since I stopped for the bathroom, a few photo ops, and got interviewed by Dennis Marsico for RunDisney, so I’m not complaining (you can see my 5 seconds of RunDisney fame HERE at the 2:53 mark)

Fighting my way to the Finish
Fighting my way to the Finish

For my 10K, I finished in 1:12:58 which was 2426th place out of 7835 finishers (the top 31% of finishers) and 1191 out of 5132 women (the top 22% of all women). For the 1/2 Marathon, I finished in 2:48:17 which was 7604th place out of 15858 finishers (the top 48% of finishers) and 3979 out of 10013 women (the top 40% of all women). HonestlyI’ve been a little disappointed in myself over not hitting my goal, however, when I look at these stats, I realize… I’m kinda a big deal!

And then of course, there are these:

The Flash & Souzapalooza looking Blingtastic!
The Flash & I looking Blingtastic!

That’s right, The Flash and I took home some serious Disney Bling that weekend! Not only did we get 10K medals (not seen in this picture) but we also earned our Disneyland 1/2 Marathon Medals, our Inaugural Dumbo Double Dare Medals, and our Coast to Coast Medals for completing PHM in Orlando and the Disneyland 1/2 in Anaheim. The Flash and I both agree, the Coast to Coast is our favorite. Four medals in one weekend, not too shabby for a couple of girls who only recently took up running!!

And for the record, the Disneyland 1/2 was The Flash’s 13 of 2013!! Way to Go! So Proud of You!

The "Incredible" Flash

One thought on “I Do It All for the Bling – My Dumbo Double Dare Recap”

Leave a Reply

