It Counts!


I earned this medal!
I wore this bib and earned this medal!

I run.

I am a runner.

I don’t know how it happened, but it has.

I run 5Ks, 10Ks, 1/2 Marathons and will be training for my very first (and depending on how it goes, it might be my only) Full Marathon taking place in January of 2014.

Now, it happens that some of my races, particularly my 1/2 Marathons, have taken place via RunDisney. My Princess Half Marathon and the Disneyland Half Marathon (at the end of this month) are both RunDisney events that I am very excited to be a part of. Usually, when I tell people that I have run a 1/2 Marathon, they are incredibly impressed with this accomplishment (or at the very least, fake interest). Most find the dedication and accomplishment of the goal noble, and the fact that it takes place on Disney property, intriguing. However, I met a man the other day who told me my 1/2 half marathons “did not count’ because one I ran in Disney and one was “just a local race”

ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?!??!?!

Why wouldn’t it count? Does the state of Florida not recognize running? Does it not count because I wore a costume? Does it not count because it was fun!?!??!

I don’t care where you are, if you are running 13.1 miles wearing a number with a start and a finish line, IT COUNTS!

If you spend your free time training for a race, be it a 5K or and ultra, IT COUNTS!

And if someone says it doesn’t, make sure you ask them what races they have done. If the response is none, their opinion doesn’t count!

Don’t let anyone belittle your achievements.

Leave a Reply

