From Paper to Film – My Thoughts on The Hunger Games Movie


150 px
150 px (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know that the buzz the past two weeks has been Hunger Games. Actually the buzz has been going on longer than that, even before the movie actually hit theaters, but who’s counting. I finally got around to seeing it this past weekend with Dart Girl. It was a good film, but I am not sure if I liked it. I feel like I like it simply because I already knew the background of the story from reading the book. If i hadn’t read the book, would I have really liked the movie?

Here are a few differences that stood out and bothered me:

  • I did not feel that the struggles of District 12 were well documented, nor was the relationship between Gale and Katniss.
  • I did not feel that the meaning of the Mocking Jays or the Mocking Jay pin was well explained.
  • I did not feel that the Peeta / Katniss relationship was well-developed, plus you lost the question of if Katniss really cared for him or if she was just playing it up for the cameras to survive.
  • Even though I jump 15 feet in to the air, I though the “Muttations” did not look like the tributes as they said in the book – If you are using CGI, you might as well go all the way, people
  • There is no mention of Peeta loosing his leg as we know about in the book.

Here are the things I thought were good:

  • Lenny Kravitz as Cinna – excellent casting. A calm presence in the chaos of the Capitol, providing support to a scared Katniss, the only person she allows to see her vulnerable side.
  • Woody Harelson as Haymitch – another great casting call – I wish the relationship between him and Katniss had been further developed as in the book so Woody would have the chance to really shine.
  • The makeup and costumes for both Elizabeth Banks as Effie and Stanley Tucci as Caesar Flickerman – What I envisioned both characters to look like.
Did you see the film and read the book? What are your thoughts?
One thought on “From Paper to Film – My Thoughts on The Hunger Games Movie”

Leave a Reply

