I’ve Caught Fire – Book Review of Catching Fire (Book 2 of The Hunger Games)


Cover of "Catching Fire (The Second Book ...
Cover via Amazon

Being snowed in this weekend I decided to put another dent in to my reading list. I started Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, the second book of the Hunger Games series. I intended just to start the book so I have something jump in to when I fly to Atlanta for business this week. I didn’t realize I would not be able to put it down!

Catching Fire leaves off where the first book ends – our heroine, Katniss has returned home to district 12 as a Hunger Games victor. As much as she would like to put the games behind her and return to business as usual, things have changed. Still tied to the games, having to attend the “Victory Tour”, Katniss gets a glimpse in to the other districts and the unrest that has been stirring in these districts as a direct result of her win. Unbeknownst to her, Katniss has become the symbol of a growing uprising against The Capitol and worst of all, The Capitol is going to make her pay for it.

If you haven’t read the Hunger Games, get yourself a copy (I’d give you mine, but I lent it to Doc last week). Then, I suggest you pick yourself up Catching Fire and Mocking Jay (the other two books in the trilogy).If you don’t have the other two when you finish, you are going to be stressing out wondering what is going to happen next, just like me right now!!

In addition, I do suggest reading the book before the movie comes out in March – cause the book is ALWAYS better! (Although the trailer looks pretty awesome)

11 thoughts on “I’ve Caught Fire – Book Review of Catching Fire (Book 2 of The Hunger Games)”

  1. The second book is definitely not as good as the first one. I think anyone will agree with that. It was weird actually. Really long at parts where nothing is happening and then out of nowhere the plot goes 180 degree in different direction in 3 pages – thats pretty anoying to say the least. Probably a good idea would be to make the book longer (+200 pages?) and let the tension build up more before reaching the highest point. Still my interest was kept continusely. I could not put it down till all was finished… Loved this series. I wish there was more.

    Have a nice day,
    Molly

  2. You’re so right – this series is majorly addictive! I’m midway through Mockingjay at the moment, and it feels like I only just picked up The Hunger Games!

    I enjoyed all the revolution plot in Catching Fire (I got a little bored with the actual games in the first book, as I didn’t think they were particularly well done).

    My review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

      1. I’m really thinking about it now! I’d love to have a blog where I just put random thoughts and work on something like a bucket list. Ace idea.

Leave a Reply

