Read My List


Cover of "Catching Fire (The Second Book ...
Cover via Amazon

I mentioned in my goals for 2012 that I wanted to read one book a month. Here is what I am interested in reading this year:

  1. Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan – Answering the question, What should we have for dinner? This book explores the hungers that have shaped our evolution, and of the profound implications our food choices have for the health of our species and the future of our planet. – I am working on this one now – I’ve gotten through the introduction.
  2. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – During my week of rest, I managed to read the Hunger Games in one day. It was very good so I figured I would move on to the next book.
  3. Integrated Nutrition by Joshua Rosenthal – This book is part of my school curriculum. I am about a third of the way through the book.
  4. Assholes Finish First by Tucker Max – The follow-up book to I Hope They Sever Beer In Hell. You will either absolutely love or completely despise Tucker Max. He is rude, crude, and total jerk but he is also a great story-teller and finds himself in the most bizarre predicaments usually involving alcohol and easy chicks. Basically, his books are a collection of stories you would hear among frat brothers
  5. The 4 Hour Work Week by Timothy Ferris – I need to learn how to work less – I’m obviously at my job way too much!
  6. An Everlasting Meal by Tamar Adler – I just read about this in the NY Times this week. Ms. Adler writes about the importance and benefits of home cooking (something I highly advocate) and ways to make it easier in our busy lives.
  7. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Randsom Riggs – I saw this at Target the other day and flip through it. The book is a story a young man who stumbles upon the ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home. The thing about this book is that is isn’t just a novel but the author incorporates the use of photography in to the book which intrigued me.
  8. Tiny Buddha – Simple Wisdom for Life’s Hard Questions by Lori Deschene  – I read the Tiny Buddha blog regularly. I love the stories and perspective that they bring. If you haven’t checked out the blog, you should. I am really interested in what the book has to offer.
  9. Bossypants by Tina Fey – Jobin loaned this to me at the end of the summer and it has been floating around various parts of my apartment waiting to be read.
  10. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – I keep seeing this book about a mysterious circus and dueling magicians around book stores and I feel like I might have to pick it up.
So what are you reading these days? 
8 thoughts on “Read My List”

  1. I read The Hunger Games too… to me like 3 weeks to read all three. I was a little disappointed with the ending- but otherwise… SUCH a page turner! SO excited for the movie!

Leave a Reply

