Post Thanksgiving Recap


I’ve been so crazy with all the things going on in my life, I did not have the opportunity to post a Thanksgiving Blog!

I like to think I am a thankful person year round and don’t just compound all my thanks in to the holiday season to try to make up for lost time. I believe if you take a moment to reflect on the things you are grateful for each day, it makes you a bit more grounded and aware of the positive things in your life.

Last year our Thanksgiving consisted of ravioli and some Boston Market because my sister had just been released from the hospital recovering from her kidney stones. This year, with my grandma being gone, mom has been taking it a bit hard so I offered to cook. I prepared a healthy meal made up of turkey breast, roasted acorn squash stuffed with wild rice, dried cherries, apple and toasted pecans, garlic sautéed greens (a mix of kale and spinach), cheesy potatoes (which did not come out as good as my stepmom’s per Ka-Ka – I thought they were pretty good for my first attempt) and  a roasted beet and goat cheese salad. Of course, what Thanksgiving would not be complete with out a Thanksgiving ice cream cake. My grandma would buy one for my sister each Thanksgiving so I couldn’t forget to pick one up. Everyone enjoyed it and no one felt like a food glutton afterwards.

Ka-Ka and I did check out the Black Friday hoopla. We hit Toys R Us to see what they had for the boys and girls we know have been very good this year. We also went to the mall where we popped in to a few stores for some ideas. We didn’t really have much of a shopping agenda so we left empty-handed and disappointed in our meager shopping attempt. I have to say – the midnight black friday shopping had a good turn out. There were a lot of younger people (teens primarily) shopping which surprised me. I have done the 6am Black Friday shops and those are usually moms and older shoppers. I guess the midnight hour is targeting the night owl.

I’ve actually done quite a bit of shopping on line already. My Ebates account is getting fatter by the minute! I love Ebates! I also have some amazon.com gift certificate credits that I am trying to make good use of. Don’t forget that tomorrow is Small Business Saturday, which I strongly believe in. Please shop local and support the wonderful businesses in your area that have wonderful products and services to offer your loved ones.

3 thoughts on “Post Thanksgiving Recap”

  1. Your Thanksgiving dinner sounds so good…yum!! Glad you got to get out and do a little shopping, even if you came home empty handed…online shopping is the way to go, you can wear your pjs, don’t have to do your hair or makeup…ahh…and no crowds!!

Leave a Reply

