Am I A “Kind” Person? – Alicia Silverstone’s Kind Diet


Cover of "The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide t...
Cover via Amazon

One of the books I took out of the library last week was The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone, star of Clueless. I am sure you are saying to yourself, Alicia Silverstone is a Nutritionist? As If! No, she isn’t; she is a animal rights activist who became vegan and incorporates microbiotic practices in to her food routine.

Now I am not looking to change my lifestyle necessarily, but I was interested in learning more about what she had to say about the vegan lifestyle. I have to say, she really made me think… A LOT!

She goes in to her personal choice of becoming vegan and how she wavered back and forth for years about being a vegetarian, not being a vegetarian, and then finally committing to veganism. Then, she provides a chapter by chapter breakout of what she deems “Nasty Foods”: Meat, Dairy, White Sugar and Processed Foods and how eating these things effect your body, the planet, the animals, and what effects kicking the “nasty foods” will have on your body. In addition, she goes in to detail about how the “Kind Foods”: Whole Grains, New Proteins (beans, tofu, tempeh, and seitan), Vegetables benefit your body in more productive ways than the nasty foods will. I think her arguments are well thought out and documented. I learned a lot and I only got through the first 88 pages.

The thing that I really loved reading the first few sections is that she isn’t pushy. She asks you to be open minded to the idea for changing your lifestyle. She also sets up the book to ease you in to the vegan mindset. She has menu options for people who are “flirting” with the idea of becoming vegan, those who are ready to go vegan, and those who are ready to be “superheroes” which is a vegan plan loosely based on a macrobiotic plan.

Reducing my “nasty food” consumption may be something that I might seriously choose to do in the coming in months. I think I need to try some of her recipes and do some menu planning to see how my body feels. I did try her Ginger Baked Tofu recipe for dinner last night. I added it over brown rice. I thought it was very tasty and I was surprisingly full from eating it.

If you want to learn more about the diet, you can pick up her book The Kind Diet or visit her website http://www.thekindlife.com

Has anyone tried “The Kind Diet” or going Vegan? How do you feel? 

3 thoughts on “Am I A “Kind” Person? – Alicia Silverstone’s Kind Diet”

  1. I’ve also read this book and found it very interesting..I have eaten a vegetarian diet for long periods of time, think I’m ready to go back to it again, but haven’t tried veganism…a lot of what lead me to vegetarianism is how terribly the animals are treated in conventional slaughter houses…the videos are enough to make you sick.

  2. I’ve been a vegetarian (with periods of chicken/seafood) for a long time. At one point, I was vegan and found it was not helpful when I had my twins as I was protein deprived…
    What saddens me more though is that when you go to the supermarket, the healthiest foods; fruits, veggies, fresh items, cost more than the sugary junk.
    I keep an organic household and the prices make me wonder how all who could benefit from it could find a way to eat healthier.
    If you saw the movie Food Inc, you’d skip certain foods for life. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    1. The prices makes me really angry, but I try to think of paying for it as treating myself to a better life. I think I could pass up the meat, but I think the dairy part might be harder. Milk and eggs are in a lot of things. I have been trying to make and effort to be more aware of what is in foods.

Leave a Reply

