My Brooklyn Bridge Bucket List Failure


The view of Brooklyn Bridge from Manhattan
Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday, I was supposed to run across the Brooklyn Bridge in the Sgt Keith A. Ferguson 5K. And what happened? I didn’t go.

In my defense, when I got up to get ready for the race, it was pouring rain. I’ve already done a race in the rain, and it wasn’t fun. The real reason I didn’t go was because, I’ve been feeling a bit rundown over the last week and a half. I am not sure why, but I know that my sleep has been off and I have been feeling very lathargic.I was listening to my body and decided that pushing myself to race when I wasn’t feeling 100% wasn’t a smart choice.

Honestly, I know this isn’t a failure at all. I know that I was doing something good for myself by getting extra sleep that my body was looking for. In addition, when I was feeling better rested, I got my lazy bones up at 8:30 and headed to the gym where I did log 3.3 miles on the treadmill. I also know that I will get to the Brooklyn Bridge some day (hopefully soon). I just need to make the time for it.

8 thoughts on “My Brooklyn Bridge Bucket List Failure”

  1. i ran the race yesterday and already wanted to stop running 2 minutes in… somehow i kept running and when i was about to get to the end of the bridge i started sprinting but the finish line was actually inside the park. i kept sprinting, fearing that i would start walking if i had stopped, for god knows how long and ended up with probably 1 of the worst experience of fatigue in my life for 40 minutes. it felt like a hangover + migraine while drenched in sweat.

Leave a Reply

