Ikea – The Epcot of Furniture (Even Though it is All From One Country)


Yesterday I took a road trip with my friend Doc to the Ikea in New Haven, CT. She and her husband, the Money Man, recently bought their first home and wanted to check out Ikea to see what they had.

Doc armed & ready for the wonderful world of Ikea!

We headed up I-95 which was jammed with traffic thanks to all the road construction that has been going on. Although the ride was slightly longer than we had anticipated, it gave us ample time to catch up on things that have happened since our last date. By the time we got there we were hungry; so we stopped at a nearby spot for pizza and salads (we decided to forgo the Swedish Meatball option offered at the Ikea market). When talking to the waitress Rosalita, we mentioned that we were Ikea bound, in which she declared her love to the Swedish retailer calling the store “the Epcot of Furniture”. I guess she didn’t realize that all the furniture comes from Sweden and really isn’t really an international pavilion of Disney Characters and beer for mommies and daddies who need a break.

Ikea may not be a World Showcase, but it is entertaining in it’s own right. There were a lot of soon to be college freshmen fighting with their parents over what they need (or don’t need) to pimp out their dorm rooms. There were also a lot of first time Ikea shoppers in the building. Many of them were taking display items from the showcase area to the register, not understanding that you walk through the show room to get inspiration, and then you go down to the market place to pick up your items of interest. Thankfully, Doc was with me, so she did not make this first time shopper blunder ๐Ÿ˜‰

So what did I get? I’m so glad you asked. I treated myself to a bedroom make over. I have been very conservative with my spending since being laid off, and since my fabulous Calvin Klein comforter that I have had for 7+ years finally fell apart on me, I decided to treat myself to some new bedding. I have been looking for a while, but hadn’t found anything that I loved, but where we walked in to Ikea I spotted something I really really liked, so I treated myself. It was a lot less expensive than some of the previous bedding sets I had looked at so I am pretty pleased with my purchase. I also got a bedside lamp for $10 (lamp & shade) so I can now read in bed with out having to get up and out of bed to turn off the light (which will be great on cold nights in the winter!)

My teddy bear enjoying the new bedding set

Do you have an Ikea near you? What do you think of their stuff?ย 

10 thoughts on “Ikea – The Epcot of Furniture (Even Though it is All From One Country)”

  1. I love Ikea, they’ll all a bit of a treck for me but it’s always good value and lot’s of inspring ideas. Most of my bedroom furniture is from there and it’s lasted really well actually. Apparently the meatballs are amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. There is one in Elizabeth, NJ and that is where we go… I decorated my LA apartment with their stuff and paid quite a bit for their recommended guy to put it all together. I love their linens and lighting… The furniture doesn’t last though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi there, I know this is an old post but is there any chance you still have this purple Ikea quilt and cases and be willing to sell them, I’m trying to track a set down. Thanks so much, Sally ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

