Things to Think Before Getting Ink (Inspired by littlemisseverything)


Inspired by my blog-o-sphere friend Vix of Little Miss Everything, today I am going to talk about a the life time commitment of getting “inked”. This weekend Vix got her very first tattoo.(Read about it here –  Inked « littlemisseverything.) It made me think about my first tattoo.

I got my first tattoo a month before I turned 19. It was a Christmas gift from a friend. I wanted a tattoo for a long time, but had a difficult time deciding on what to get and where to get it. I wanted an angel on my shoulder, some one to watch my back when times are tough. Problem is, I am not a very religious person and I thought it would be wrong to have an angel. Instead I chose to have a fairy. I thought it would be less religious and perhaps she would add more magic to my life. I chose to put my tattoo on my shoulder since it is a location where I wouldn’t see it on a daily basis. In fact all my tattoos are hidden from my everyday view. I might catch a glimpse in the mirror but I can’t just sit and stare at them. I love my tattoos and do not regret any of them. I think they make me more beautiful. I took the time and effort to plan them out.

Here are some things to think about before getting inked: 

  1. Why do you want a tattoo? Do you REALLY want one or do you just want to be trendy?
  2. What do you want a tattoo of? Remember, this thing is going to be on your body for the rest of your life, think about it. Do you really want a random drawing from the flash art on the walls or do you want something that was designed specifically for you / with input from you. I don’t think you should just  jump at the chance to throw the name of your significant other over a dragon on your upper arm like a certain celebrity did.
  3. Do you have a reputable studio to get your tattoo done? It is important to find a good artist who works in a clean environment. Word of mouth recommendations are always a great place to start. If you see someone with tats you admire, ask them where they got their work done.
  4. Can you tolerate pain? Getting a tattoo is not a comfortable experience. If you have a high threshold for pain, it won’t matter. If you are not so “tough skinned” you may be highly uncomfortable. You may want to start with something small to see if you can tolerate the feeling.
  5. Do you have the time / patients for post-ink care? It is very important to take good care of your tattoo while it heals. What is the point of getting one if you are going to ruin it. Make sure if you are getting a tattoo in the summer that you use sunscreen and stay out of the pool for a while so the scab heals properly and the design doesn’t get ruined.

So, now that you thought about it, are you ready for your new addiction? Tattoos have that way about them….

5 thoughts on “Things to Think Before Getting Ink (Inspired by littlemisseverything)”

  1. I’ve been thinking about getting a little tatoo in an out of view place for quite some time now…just not sure what kind I would get…guess that’s kind of important, huh?

Leave a Reply

