Thank You For Being My Friends


Between my grandmother’s passing and trying to divert my attention from worrying about my unemployment, this weekend was a hard one. Through it all, I realized how incredibly blessed I am.

Ka-ka stepped up and took on a lot of responsibility this weekend. She helped my mom and aunt pick out some of the stuff for the funeral and did a lot of relative schlepping. She really pitched in so I could take some time for myself to mourn both my losses and get a small handle on what had happened. She delivered a beautiful eulogy which made everyone tear up, including my step-dad (She likes that she can now call herself a “Eugoogalizer” like Zoolander).

I had an outpouring of support from friends over both my losses which were incredibly surprising and I am incredibly grateful for. I received calls, emails, and Facebook messages from friends all over offering to help me find a job, pass along my resume, or just take me out for a drink to mourn my four-year run at work.

In addition, friends reached out from every where to send their condolences about my grandmother. LH, D1 & the Secret Agent, sent an amazing arrangement of flowers to the funeral home since they all live a little to far to pay condolences in person. Jobin and her mom came to the afternoon services and sat through my grandma’s church group perform the rosary prayer (which they started, made a mistake, and had to start all over again from the beginning! and it is a long one for all of those who are not familiar with it!) Many others came to pay their respects. Doc, her husband the Money Man (he is an excellent financial advisor!), The Dart Champ, Zippy the Derby Girl and her husband Danger Spouse, The Brain Builder and her family, Ms. Brown, Role Model Mom and her husband and brand new baby girl, My other sister and her family, Aunt Sweetie, and the Cookie Lady, all took time out of their holiday weekend to stop by and let us know that they cared.

Many people say their friends, and will stand with you when times are good but, true friends are he ones who stick with you when times get tough. I am so thankful to have these wonderful people in my life.

Today, take a moment to recognize who your true friends are and be sure to thank them for being part of your life.

And incase you need a little bit of cheesy-ness to start your Tuesday…

Related articles

One thought on “Thank You For Being My Friends”

  1. How nice that your sister stepped up and took care of so much that was involved in your grandmother’s funeral arrangements. And I so agree with you, we often don’t recognize how special our true friends are until times like these…hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

