A One-Two Punch


As I mentioned in the beginning of yesterday’s post about really good links to check out (and hopefully some of you did) I did not have a chance to formulate a good blog post. The reason being, I was at the hospital until late on Tuesday evening. My grandmother, who has been battle lung cancer since february, had taken a turn for the worse and passed away early Wednesday morning.

I can’t really complain about my grandmother’s passing. She was 86 years old. She lived a good life complete with two daughters, 17 grandchildren (biological, adopted, fostered and step), 17 great-grandchildren, and one great-grandturtle. Thankfully, she was fully functional and alert until her last 12 hours. She did not suffer and left for a better place as peacefully. In all honestly, when I arrived at the hospital on Tuesday night around eight, my grandmother’s body may have been lying in bed, but my grandma was no longer in that vessel.

As if that wasn’t enough to knock the wind out of my sails, I also lost my job today. My company was finally sold and a group of us were let go today, a group is being transitioned till the end of summer, and a third group is being taken in by the parent company. It is a bit of a blessing. I have been unhappy with work for a while. This frees up some time for me to focus on what I really want to do, and gives me time to get it done. Plus, I am hoping to get some miles logged on my sneakers.

So here I am, with the wind knocked out of me from this one-two punch I was hit with today. I know I might be a little weary right now, but in the end I know it will make me better and stronger. Plus, I am soooooooooooooo looking forward to sleeping in today.

 

8 thoughts on “A One-Two Punch”

  1. oh my…I’m so sorry about your grandmother…and the job loss, while it may end up being a blessing, is still a big transition for you…hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

