Sunday Night Mexican Mix-Up


This weekend I worked for the Red Barn at the Stone Barn’s Farmer’s Market. Even though the market is open from 1 – 4pm, it is quite and exhausting day of talking to people, telling them about the products, answering questions, collecting payments, and refreshing products. So, when I finally made it home, I was quite tired, and didn’t really want to focus on putting together a meal. I was going to make an omlette with the eggs I got at Stone Barns, or perhaps french toast with the rustic bread I got from Red Barn, but I wasn’t feeling like breakfast for diner.

I had some ground turkey in the fridge so I decided to make a dish I call Mexican Mix-up. I diced up half and onion and add a spoon full of minced garlic and browned it in a pan with a touch of olive oil. Then I added the ground turkey, stirring it well so it will crumble in to small pieces. I added in a can of black beans and a jar of Trader Joe’s salsa.

I threw this in a bowl and melted some shredded mexican blend cheese on top of mine. However, this mix is great in a taco shell, wrapped in to a burrito, over rice, or even using it with some tortilla chips like a very hearty dip.

Try it out and let me know what you think

Leave a Reply

