Sometimes You Need a Change of Scenery…


It was so great to have a break from things this weekend. Getting to spend a short time down at D1’s was a nice break from the monotony of my daily routines.

I got down to her neck of the woods Friday afternoon and we met up at the outlet shops. I was able to get two on the Nike Sports Bras I mentioned adoring last week, as well as three pairs of new flats (something I had been looking to get for a while) that were buy one get two free… yes 3 pairs of shoes for the price of one!! Once we finished shopping, D1 & I met up with her Man-Friend and another friend and had a delicious meal of mariscada paired with sangria.

The next morning, D1 and I got up and headed out to the Women’s Weekend. We started our day with a guided meditation session led by Diane Todd, a Reiki Master / Teacher & Holistic Health Care Practitioner (You can find out more about her and her services at www.holistichealtconnect.com). She led us through some deep breathing exercises and guided meditation which was incredibly relaxing and invigorating. She was selling CDs of her guided meditation which I picked up. I hope to listen to it this week to help me find some focus and maybe come to some conclusions on the questions I have been reflecting on.

After meditation, D1 and I grabbed a bite of brunch (tasty breakfast burritos!). Following brunch, we headed to “Frantastic Yoga” where we had a private yoga lesson (D1 & I were the only two in the noon session). We learned all sorts of tips to improve our alignments and to get the most benefit out of the practice. After yoga, we strolled along the town of Ocean Grove, taking in the arcitechural sites and browsing shops for knickknacks and jewelry. Even suffering through miserable allergies, it truly was a lovely day with a good friend.

I wish I could have stayed longer, but I had to get home for my very first 5K race Sunday morning. Which I will tell you all about in tomorrow’s post…

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Need a Change of Scenery…”

Leave a Reply

