Could It Be I’m Falling In Love…


Love! (from Souzapalooza’s trip to Lisbon)

I have a quote attached to my visual bulletin board that I clipped out from a magazine a few years ago. It hangs there for me to glance at every day, along with my picture of Drew Barrymore, my before & after Weight Watchers pictures (which I should really replace with NEW before & after pictures), and a few other motivating items. The quote happens to be from the last scene of the last episode of the Sex and the City series:

…the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous. ~ Carrie Bradshaw

Sadly, for a long time, I didn’t really like me. I worked all the time, I didn’t take care of myself, I put other people’s needs in front of my own, I tried to force things to work when they clearly didn’t, I worried over things I couldn’t control, I was fustrated, I was becoming more and more negative and I was completely exhausted. One day, I stopped and looked at myself…that person in the mirror couldn’t be me? She never smiles, she looks miserable, and man she has gained weight! I hated what I saw.

Amor! (from Souzapalooza’s Trip to Lisbon)

It has taken me a while but I have figured out that as hard as I try, a square peg will never fit in a round hole, that worrying will get me nothing but headaches (and grey hairs), and that although delicious and full of calcium, ice cream can not be dinner. I definately don’t have it all figured out; it is an ongoing process. I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, I still hate that I have to drive 10 minutes away to do laundry, and I have yet to master a foreign language, but some day those things will change. Until then, I’m me, and I LOVE ME!

Stephanie Ackerman  – http://www.stephanieackermandesigns.com

All photos belong to Souzapalooza, proper attribution required for usage

3 thoughts on “Could It Be I’m Falling In Love…”

    1. Thank you so much! I think this is something a lot of us struggle with, but a little with positive thinking, self reflection, and time, it gets easier to realize who you are, what’s in your power to change/improve, and that it may not be perfect, but its wonderful anyway.

Leave a Reply

