Things do not change; we change.~Henry David Thoreau


Are you the same person you were 10 years ago? 5 years ago? Last year? Yesterday?

10 years ago – I was 22 years old, I had been out of college for almost a year with a business degree, working in fashion with drive to take over the world but no plan on how to do it, and too scared of failing to even try. I was frustrated, confused, and wasn’t doing anything to make it better.

5 years ago – I was 27, I had been living on my own, worrying about the future, trying to fix the past, not noticing that my life was becoming stagnant, not really moving forward, just taking what I was getting, not really happy with who I was,.

Last year – I was 31, concerned about my future, my health (I was at my max weight), my job, striving to learn more and move forward, needing to figure out the next steps to do that.

Today – I am 32, still getting better every day, focused on being the best and healthiest Souzapalooza I can be. Learning to let go of the things and people who don’t work in my life, not being afraid to take chances, risks, or fall flat of my face and most importantly remembering to get back up if and when I do.

It has take a lot of focus, work, and discipline to become who I am today; and I am hardly done evolving in to the person I strive to be. Every day is a baby step in that direction. Many people are afraid of change. They are afraid of stepping out of their comfort zone. They want to sit on their couch and wait for life to be handed to them. Do you know what happens if you do that? You turn in to the obese man who was fused to his Lazyboy!

Is change hard? Yes. Is it scary? Hell Yes! But if we don’t change, how do we grow? How do we become the best version of ourselves? How do we get back up when we fail? How to we reach our goals?

If you keep doing what you’re doing, you are going to keep getting what you’re getting, and if you don’t like what you’re getting, get up off the couch and change it!

If it is your job… Look for a new one. I know this economy sucks, but keep at it. Ask friends, look for mentors, take up a hobby or skill that could help you in the job you want

If it is weight loss….Put down the fork and get off the couch. The weather is getting nicer, take a walk around the block. Start slow if you are intimidated. Make it 5 minutes, tomorrow try a 10 minute walk. Energy and persistence conquer all things – Benjamin Franklin

If it is your social life…change it.Get out there and meet new people. Join a meetup group for things you are interested in or want to try. You can meet new people and try new things at the same time.

Every day is a new day to change your life, don’t be afraid to embrace it!

3 thoughts on “Things do not change; we change.~Henry David Thoreau”

  1. I love this post! It seems so easy but oh the games we play in our own heads! Once you’re open to change it is so simple…but that’s where the work is.

Leave a Reply

