Cooking & Coupons


I’m so proud of myself today. Here is the story….

Clip, Clip, Save, Save

I had to go food shopping since my fridge contained little more than water, eggs, condiments, and some left overs from last week. Usually, I go to the market with a few things in mind, but no real list and end up walking out with random items that makes putting together my dinners look like an episode of Chopped. So rather than shop the aisles willy-nilly, I put together a plan of what I’d like to eat this week and a list of what I needed. In addition, I went on-line to see what my Stop & Shop had on sale and sorted through my coupons to identify which ones I might be able to use.

I go to a Stop & Shop that is 20 minutes north of my house. I know that sounds crazy but it is worth it. They have a much better produce section and meat selection that the ones that are closer. Plus, they have scanning guns! The scanning gun has actually made a big difference in my shopping. I can really monitor my spending when I use the gun.

Today my subtotal came to $150.77 however when you apply the following savings:

  • $32.69 with my Stop & Shop Card
  • $0.50 Personal Thanks Coupon on Tostitos
  • $1.75 on three Double coupons
  • $10.75 on 11 Manufactures coupons
I saved $45.69, paying $106.88. That is a 30% savings!
I’m not hording toothpaste like the extreme coupon people, but I was pretty darn impressed with my coupon savvy this week. (Plus, saving $45 made me feel a little less guilty about the two pairs of shoes I bought at Marshall’s Shoe Megashop… but they were on SALE too!! )
Nine West Slingback Peeptoes, Originally $68, I got them for $20!
Rampage Pinstripe Heels - Originally $39 I got them for $10!
You can see better here... they are grey with a blue pinstripe
For this week I made Ma Po Tofu from the Cooking Light Way to Cook Cookbook. If you don’t have this cookbook, you should get it. It is a great resource to learn different cooking techniques and tool usage as well as containing recipes. I bought it for Doc and her husband as part of their housewarming present.
Here is my version of the tofu, it is a bit different then the one in the cookbook.
Ingredients:
  • 1 package of extra firm tofu
  • 1 cup of reduced sodium stock
  • 2 Tbs cornstarch
  • 4 Tbs low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs of chilli garlic paste
  • 1lb of ground turkey
  • 1 Tbs grated ginger
  • 1 Tbs minced garlic
  • 1 bunch of scallions, finely chopped

1) The tofu should be wrapped in a paper towel and pressed with a heavy pan for a minimum of 30 minutes in order to remove excess water from the block and slice the tofu in to cubes. (If I plan really well, I usually take the tofu out to press in the morning and leave it for most of the day in order to get the most liquid out of the tofu)

2) Wisk together the stock, cornstarch, soy sauce, and garlic chilli paste.

3) Heat up a wok and brown the ground turkey, crumbling the meat. Once cooked through, remove from heat and transfer to another bowl.

4) Reheat the wok, adding the minced garlic and grated ginger. Add the tofu to the pan, stirring for a 4-5 minutes or until golden.

5) Add meat back in to the work and pour stock mixture over the stir fry.

6) Stir as mixture thickens.

7) Remove from heat and garnish chopped scallions.

8) Serve tofu mixture over rice and ENJOY!

My stepmom makes a really great version of this dish from a recipe that she has had forever and tweaked so many times that she won’t share it with anyone. So you will just have to settle for mine.

Leave a Reply

