Rock Our World!


On Tuesday, I wrote about my bucket list and seizing life’s opportunities. I am happy to report that last night, I was able to help someone else cross something off their bucket list.

As some of you may have read, I am a HUGE Bret Michaels fan. My friend LH and I see him every time he comes to the tri-state area (be it with Poison or the Bret Michaels Band) I often recall the story of how the two of us randomly got the chance to meet him three years ago and how impressed we were to see how truly humbled he is by the adoration he receives from his fans. My Aunt Sweetie (that is really what we all call her), is also a big Bret fan. She listens to his music as she creates accessories for pets (visit her Facebook page, or her Etsy shop for more info). I would always get an ear full of grief about how we never take her with us to see Bret. It was the one black mark on my record of being the perfect niece.

Aunt Sweetie & I front row for Bret Michaels

So when one of my very thoughtful classmates told me that Bret would be playing locally at the historic Tarrytown Music Hall, I jumped on their website for tickets. I purchased a Tarrytown Music Hall Membership, and was able to buy advance sale tickets (which are for members only) to Bret’s show. Not just any tickets,

FRONT ROW TICKETS!

So last night, after years of torturing my aunt with tales of Bret’s concerts, my sister, LH, and I were taking her with us. She was finally going to have her world rocked, and let me tell you, she was NOT disappointed.

Bret's Pick!

Not only were our seats front row, we were allowed to belly up to the stage. My aunt was in the middle of it all; smack dab in front of the mike stand. Bret touched her hand not once, not twice, but THREE times!! In addition, he let her attempt to pull a pick off of his guitar band, but she couldn’t get it out. When he switched guitars, he walked over to her and handed her another pick, and blew her a kiss. I think she could have died a happy woman right at that moment.

Aunt Sweetie’s Bucket List: 1) See Bret Michaels Live!

In addition to putting on an amazing show, which was no small feat for a man who was diagnosed with juvenile diabetes when he was six years old, survived a cerebral brain hemorrhage, and recently had surgery to repair a hole in his heart; Bret raised $3,200 for the American Diabetes Association. One lucky gentleman in the balcony section, won an auction package that included a Bret Michael’s Signature Series Dean Guitar, a meet & greet with Bret after the show, as well as tickets and backstage passes to this summer’s Poison / Motley Crue Anniversary Tour that will be rockin’ the nation. (It is the 25th anniversary of Poison and 30th anniversary for Motley Crue) In addition, proceeds from Bret Michael Merchandise sold at the shows all go toward the American Diabetes Association, specifically to send juvenile diabetics to summer camp. You can learn more about this program by visiting Bret’s Website

Here are some pictures from our evening, via Flickr

If you are interested in learning more about Juvenal Diabetes, please visit A Day in the Life of a Juvenile Diabetic

5 thoughts on “Rock Our World!”

  1. I have goosebumps! That is a GREAT story and something you and your Aunt will share and remember forever. I love it!! I also love seeing shows there – what a great theatre. I can’t believe the level of talent they get. Well done!!

  2. you are now the perfect niece! All I can say is thank you…you gave me the best night of my life! I’m still on a high! I love you!!!

    AND…BRET You ROCK my WORLD!!!!!

    1. Thank you!
      This was our 4th time seeing Bret together, but we have also each see him with Poison with other friends. We also seen Counting Crows, Maroon 5, Michael Franti, and others, but Bret is our favorite!

Leave a Reply

