I scream! You scream! We all scream for ice cream!


My arch nemeses - Ben & Jerry! By Dismas (Own work) CC-BY-SA-3.0 , via Wikimedia Commons

Today is Free Cone Day at participating Ben & Jerry’s shops. From Noon until 8pm, Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shops will be scooping out free ice cream cones for any patron who walks through their doors.  It is an eight-hour ice cream scoopfest!

Why are they doing this?

TO TORTURE ME!!

Ben & Jerry both know that ice cream is my favorite dessert, and that I have given it up for Lent. They are out to make me suffer! Those bastards!

Actually Free Cone Day isn’t really a nationwide Souzapalooza torture fest, but rather it is Ben & Jerry’s way of thanking its customers for their loyal patronage. It also gives customers an opportunity to try out some new flavors that they may have been nervous to take a chance on. The Free Cone Day Page is promoting four new flavors that are now available in the scoop shops: Late Night Snack (inspired by Late Night with Jimmy Fallon), Bonnaroo Buzz (inspired by the Bonnaroo Music Festival), Stephen Colbert’s AmeriCone Dream and Clusterfluff. All look very promising, but if I could choose, I’d lean towards the Late Night Snack (I’m interested in finding out what the fudge covered potato chips taste like).

I’ll just have to wait untill next Sunday to enjoy some. In the mean time, I just hope no one teases me like this:

(Please note, this Eddie Murphy clip contains some explicit language, viewer discretion is advised)

Are you attending Free Cone Day?

Leave a Reply

