Carpe Diem! (Inspired by Cyanide & Hapiness @ www.explosm.net)


Why do we wish for things we can’t have?

Why do we assume the grass is alway greener?

Why do we put off the things that we really want to do?

I can’t tell you how many times I wished to be someone different than I am, taller, smarter, funnier. I’ve wished to be more like specific people I know, because they seemed to have the things that I wanted for my life. I’ve put off doing things and taking chances, waiting until I was thinner, had more time, had more money or what ever other excuse was available. I know that I have been guilty of all these things, I am sure you have been too. Why do we do this to our selves?

I’m not going to be taller, smarter, funnier or anyone else but me and if I keep waiting for the perfect alignment of stars and planets to start something, I’m going to miss out on a lot of other things and so are you!

We are a quarter of the way through 2011, what have you done so far this year? I’m making a “bucketlist” of all the things I want to do, try, and experience and have posted them here on my blog. I’d love if you would share a few of your own in the comments section below.

Here are a few quotes to motivate you (courtesy of www.quotegarden.com)….

  • Go for it now.  The future is promised to no one.  ~Wayne Dyer
  • Every man dies.  Not every man really lives.  ~Braveheart
  • As you grow older, you’ll find the only things you regret are the things you didn’t do.  ~Zachary Scott
  • Why always “not yet”?  Do flowers in spring say “not yet”?  ~Norman Douglas
  • Don’t ever save anything for a special occasion.  Being alive is the special occasion.  ~Author Unknown

Don’t sit around waiting, seize the day!


4 thoughts on “Carpe Diem! (Inspired by Cyanide & Hapiness @ www.explosm.net)”

  1. You’re so right. Carpe Diem! I think we all tend to wait for something to happen…and life is happening right now. It’s hard to open up and experience the good and the bad, in this moment. It’s worse to look back and say, “I was there, and it must have been fun. Why don’t I remember?”

  2. I just crossed something off the bucket list! I beat Jobin at Words with Friends! I’ve been loosing to her continually for weeks now! I can’t believe I won! And today for that matter!

  3. I keep an ongoing list in my mind…. and then I look for the signs that tell me when it is the right time to have this or that particular experience/opportunity. It has guided me well for ever one of my major vacation decisions.

Leave a Reply

