Strange things are afoot at the Circle-K…


Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure
Image via Wikipedia

I remember being a kid, and watching Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure. It was one of my favorite movies. Still, almost 22 years after its theatrical release, I will watch Bill & Ted if I happen to find it when I am flipping through channels.

For those of you who haven’t seen this 80’s classic, let me give you a brief summary:

Bill S. Preston Esq. & Ted Theodore Logan are two friends from San Dimas, CA who dream of starting their rock band, “Wyld Stallyns“. However, if they don’t pass their history report, Ted will be sent to Alaskan military school, and the band will never get off the ground. In order to prevent this from happening, they are sent a time-traveling phone booth so they can go back in time and learn about the past, in order to save their future.

Bill & Ted time-travel with little consequential impact, unlike Marty McFly in Back to the Future (another one of my favorites), which makes Bill & Ted easy to follow. The thing that I loved about this movie was that amidst the comical mishaps of our bumbling heroes,  I actually learned things. When historical figures mentioned in the film would come up in my schoolwork,  I could recall pieces of the film. In addition, I love the merging of the historical information with the modern-day ideas, like when Ted says “Beethoven’s favorite works include Mozart’s Requiem,  Handel’s Messiah, and Bon Jovi’s Slippery When Wet.” You just have to stop and think, would Beethoven  really like Bon Jovi? Incidently, Slippery When Wet was the top-selling of album of 1987 and is the 21st best-selling studio album of all time according to Billboard Magazine.

Now, Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure was followed by a sequel,  Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey. I actually saw this one in the movie theater. Although we want our heroes to be “most triumphant”, this film wasn’t. Bill & Ted are killed by Evil Robot Uss sent from the future and have to travel through Heaven and Hell to get home to San Dimas, save their girlfriends, and win the Battle of the Bands.

Now, word on the street from man who played Ted Theodore Logan, Mr. Keanu Revees, Bill & Ted may be back on the big screen for more time-traveling shenanigans. As much as I love these boys, I am concerned about the production of this new installment of the Bill & Ted franchise. Are the California Dude hijinks are going to be as cute when Bill & Ted are in their 40’s?

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

