Setting Goals


Happy Halloween Everyone!

On an evening full of ghosts, goblins and zombies, the scariest thing for me is the bathroom scale. I was doing some reading from my Google Alerts, tagging for my delicious files, and came across an article that said Halloween kicks off the “holiday eating season”. As a result, Halloween is actually the best time to set your weight loss goals. Setting a goal, and focusing on it before the holiday temptations begin, may help to maintain, and/or loose weight, rather than gaining unwelcome holiday pounds.

Rather than setting a goal like: “I want to loose X amount in Y time period” (which I think is unrealistic and adds unneeded pressure to meet that goal in that specified time), I am setting goals that are more manageable and will hopefully result in weight loss.

Here are my realistic goals:

  • I will write down everything that I eat.

I have picked out a pocket size notebook to use as my food diary. By writing down what I am eating, I can monitor and take accountability for what I am actually eating rather than conveniently forgetting a high calorie snack. I can also use it to track where I can make improvements in my diet like getting a side salad at lunch rather than fries.

  • I will go to the gym at least three times a week

As far as exercise, I need to make this more of a priority in my life. I am one to make the excuse “There isn’t enough time”, but really I know I can find some if I try. It may require a bit of sacrifice, like going to bed earlier, but I know it will be worth it in the long run when I am healthier and have more energy. In fact, I got up early yesterday and made a Zumba class at NYSC. It was so much fun and I felt great all day!

  • I will wear my pedometer (when I can attach it to my outfit)

I have a pedometer, however I have not been wearing it, simply because most of the summer I wear dresses and there is no where to attach it. Now that it is getting chillier and the dresses will be in the closet, I am going to make more of an effort to remember to take it with me.

Hopefully, by sticking to these small goals, that are pretty reasonable to accomplish, I might be less afraid of my scale next Halloween!

Leave a Reply

